winkgirl4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tis the Season to be Jolly

My favor for this Season is really quite mixed. Truth be told, I am optimistic. I know that my children should have enjoyable time of travel and getting to see (and be seen) by most of their dearest relatives and, more importantly, showered in gifts by the same. At the same time, Sonya is nigh on the birth of our Madelynn Faith Fassino and just being around her brings me joy. Katrina has opted to not stay the night at Sonyas as she's afraid that Julia won't think that Santa comes to their house, too. (Which is bullshit.) She's just angry that it was her year to host and, because Sonya is so close to giving birth and needs to be on the ready, we moved it to Sonya's house for her sake. Michelle's charm at stalking has petered out and the man who once gave into her efforts has now moved on, so Michelle will be knee-high into a glass of what ever spirit is most readily available and will bring us to the edge of unreason with her incessant disdain for all the is either male or Randy-ish. Raymond will arrive, with my wee-ones in toe, on Christmas Eve and will remain until mid-day Christmas. If he can resist the on-going need to explain (through all hours of the night) that he still loves me and that he's a changed man, I believe that my Christmas spirit is enough to accommodate him, as well. I've not brought myself to call on Christian to wish him Christmas joy and to bridge our silence but am working on that. Shannon, too, is quite ill- though mostly in his head- which limits how much we see of one another so, I think, that's not a bad thing either. I have but a few Christmas presents left to purchase and that- along with stocking stuffers- should complete my shopping needs.

Add to that the fact that I will not have to return to work until NEXT Wednesday and I think that there is hope for this season, yet.


You should see my desk. I have an assortment of goodies beside me that would rival a candy shop. This year�s company gift giving was limited to edible gifts. I have plates and bags full of�well, truth be known, I don�t recognize what half of it is. The theme seems to have been �foods with at least ten ingredients.� Oh my, these actually came with a recipe. Believe me, people, you should try these:

Seasoned Wonder Crackers:

1 � cups Canola Oil (no substitute)
1-2 t crushed red pepper flakes (I use 1 heaping tsp but season your to individual tastes)
1 package Ranch Dressing (not buttermilk)
1 Box Whole Wheat Soda Crackers (Zesta or Krispy- can also use white if desired)

Mix ranch dressing , oil and red pepper flakes until well blended. Put crackers in wide-mouth gallon jar.

Turn jar on side and ROTATE BACK AND FORTH intermittently for 48 hours. It�s best to start them in the morning rather than at night because you�re up and about to rotate them more often during the day.

They keep well if you keep them in air-tight containers. If keeping for an extended period of time, store in refrigerator.

These things are great!!! The taste of the red pepper sets in after a minute or so (which, let me tell you, brought tears to my eyes as my throat is extremely raw) but even through the pain, it�s hard to eat just one of these. What a great recipe.

Wouldn�t you know it? the prettiest thing on this plate is the most un-edible. Goes to show you, you can put a pretty colored icing on anything. I, myself, made dark chocolate Joy Balls (yes, those do sound fun, don't they?), Cream Cheese mints and White Chocolate Christmas Trees.

Let the holiday weight-gain begin!!!

Merry Christmas to all. May you have warm fellowship with the ones you love and your just rewards for being good during the day and naughty at night. Peace.

10:21 a.m. - December 22, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Smartypants
mal-adjusted
siopup
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
unwittingly
red-wine
bathtubmary
boardho
paintergrrrl
bi-bi-baby
jesbohn
nypizzas2
counthere
saamba
goingloopy
porktornado
onewetleg
dooki
madamfafa
southern-sky