winkgirl4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Go Team!!

Let's see: a quick entry on these, my few spare minutes before I have to take my son trick-or-treating.

Today was Bedlam. For those of you who don't follow OU football (and shame on you) today is the day that we face- not our rival- but our pathetic little state brother, OSU. There was a time when I could root for them. I could hope that in any other game- besides the one they played against us- they'd win. Those days passed several years ago. Bedlam is the Superbowl for OSU. We are their title. And let me tell you boys and girls, they almost got it, today. I hate saying that. I hate it. Hate it. Hate it. Hate it. And while my friends were shouting, "We made their first two touchdowns for them, of course they're in the game," I had to say, "Hey, if they were dropping the rock and fumbling kicks we'd call it like it was. We'd say that they look like a bunch of high schoolers." That didn't gain any pats on the backs from my friends, mind you.

I know. I do. I get too wrapped up in the game. It's just a game. It's a sports team. Like Bill Maher is fond of saying, "It's a group of black guys who would kick your ass if they knew you." (It goes something like that, anyway.) But when I think of OU, I think of my parents. (My real parents not the ones who gave birth to me.) I think of all the games we watched together. In the seats or in our house, we were on our feet the entire time. I then went to college (not OU as I should have but ECU) where I didn't know anyone that I could share that with. I'd go home and watch the games with my family or I'd go to the game and watch with my then boyfriend, Brian. When I got married and my parents and I had a falling away I couldn't get my neanderthal of a husband to watch anything but racing or boxing with me. So I watched alone. It's been an emotional thing for me. Irrational, probably, but still- for me-it's like having my family beside me having my team on the field.

well, I've got to run. Trick or treating is getting ready to start and I'm dressing up as an OU fan.

4:37 p.m. - October 30, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Smartypants
mal-adjusted
siopup
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
unwittingly
red-wine
bathtubmary
boardho
paintergrrrl
bi-bi-baby
jesbohn
nypizzas2
counthere
saamba
goingloopy
porktornado
onewetleg
dooki
madamfafa
southern-sky