winkgirl4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The luck of the Draw

I hate giving quick updates but that's all it seems that I have time for these days. By the time that I get home at night, I barely cook dinner before I'm in bed.

Let's see...important points...important points...

Oh, yes. Bush was re-elected. I spent my ONE free night this week (Monday evening) at the Democratic Headquarters calling people reminding them to vote (an vote correctly) So much for that. Sigh. On Election night, after I got off work, I watched until I could watch no longer and fell asleep with my bedroom tv on. When I awoke and saw that it was apparent that Bush wasn't going away, I wimpered myself to sleep only to wake again later with a dismal hope that the tide could have turned. Sigh. This time, the sobs that carried me back to sleep were heavier and I buried my head under my pillow to drown out my thoughts. That seems very melodramtic but even I was surprised at how sad it made me.

What else? Hm... what else? Oh, yes- how could I forget? Last week my supervisor approached me about staffing a crew to renovate our plant. They asked me what I thought about using my previous place of employment and I discussed with them why I felt that we would probably have better luck elsewhere. So the maintenance supervisor and I begin pouring over applicants at the beginning of this week. Then the call comes in. "Oh, you're moving it up? We will need this staffed by thursday? Uh. Okay." Even if I hiring process didn't take a good week to push papers through, we still needed to do references and interviews. There was no time. So I called. I also called the "other" agency. The other agency gave us a better mark up. A MUCH better mark up. Couple that with the fact that I really didn't want to contribute one penny to my old company again- I was ready to accept the offer. It was my call- but when we discussed the speed at which we were going to need these workers and the fact that a couple of the people we were going to use were already on file at my old stomping grounds- it was simply a matter of what took less time. You can only imagine my ire at making the call. On the upside, our company is doubling in size and I've already spoken to the other agency about helping us meet those needs in the future. I mean, really, using them for two weeks is okay but when it comes to staffing 60-75 extra people, price and principle is what really matters. Am I right? Besides, when we were finalizing the details, Brad had the audacity to ask if I could have someone else sign the papers. See, it's just that kind of professionalism that I am glad to be away from.

Now for something upbeat. I have seen true love. Witnessed it. Cried over it and have determined that I won't settle for anything less than what I know actually exists out there.

A couple weeks ago, my sister experienced her twelfth wedding anniversary- which is great on it's on behalf. But, what made this so special is that this was the first anniversary in four years where my brother-in-law wasn't in a hospital bed hanging on for dear life. He was well. He was in remission. I got a call from the brother-in-law and I assumed that it was to see if I could babysit so that he could take my sister out but to my surprise I was wrong. Turns out, he was throwing a surprise wedding for her and was going to ambush her and have her renew thier vows. It was wonderful. It was absolutely the sweetest thing EVER. Ever. There was more than enough crying and giddy smiles but the absolute best part was the sincerity in their eyes. You couldn't mistake it. When they said for better of for worse, you could see that they actually knew the difference. The closest thing I ever had to that was Christian but we never got to see if we could make it through the everyday grind, the really tough parts, the really hard parts, the parts harder than just being apart. The parts where you realize that you absolutely stand a chance to be separated forever by something greater than miles. And I saw that kind of love in their eyes. And I heard it in his voice when he came over just to give me a chance to complain to him that his President got re-elected. Before leaving, he was telling me about some silly little something that he and she had done together and he had this goofy, little smile on his face and- as if she were something that he descovered yesterday (not twelve years ago)- he said, "God, you know, I just love your sister so much." And you know what? If I ever doubted love- ever- I could't after seeing them. All I could say as he was leaving, was, "You know, my sister is very lucky. I couldn't have asked for anything better for her." And I mean that. Richie is never going to be out of the woods. His life expenctancy is never going to turn around. We will always live in fear of his life being cut short. Even still- I've never been witness to a greater sense of love. And though it's tinged a bit by envy- I am nothing but happy when I see them together.

2:11 p.m. - November 05, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Smartypants
mal-adjusted
siopup
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
unwittingly
red-wine
bathtubmary
boardho
paintergrrrl
bi-bi-baby
jesbohn
nypizzas2
counthere
saamba
goingloopy
porktornado
onewetleg
dooki
madamfafa
southern-sky