winkgirl4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

When they knock you down...

Have you ever heard the saying, "If I didn't have bad luck I'd have no luck at all?" God created that saying just for me. Oh, sure, someone, somewhere said it first but they only said it so that I could later have a motto.

So, yesterday I got hit by a car. Yeah. Really. I had just stepped off of the curb and was walking across a vacant parking space to get to my car (which was sitting adjacent to it) when- out of nowhere- I feel something plow into me. I didn't look to see what it was. Come to think of it, I don't think I could, really. I was too busy doing that whole "I'm falling in slow motion-thing." I was being pushed- face first- back over the curb from which I had just stepped. Then, I noticed that I was scraping against the concrete and was watching my wooden box-purse slamming onto the ground. The first, clear thought I remember having at that point was, "Oh no. My purse." Heh. (Yeah, me and my priorities.)
I roll over on my side and I see a white car. (Hm. So that's what that was.) I scrambled to pull my skirt down and to gather myself together and stand up. There are scrapes on my knuckles and, though the blood was starting to come to the surface, the accompanying stinging sensation wouldn't follow until about ten minutes later when the shock started to wear off. It didn't really hurt, but I knew that my knees were in rough condition, too.

A man, only slightly older than me, gets out of his car and rushes over to me and keeps asking if I'm alright. And, to my surprise, I am. Yeah, I've got a couple of scrapes on me but I seemed to have been standing with no problem. There wasn't a ton of blood gushing from any major part of my body. I couldn't feel any pain, signaling an extreme injury. I looked at my purse and, astonishingly enough, it wasn't broken. Yeah, I was alright. Shocked. Embarassed. A little ouside of my self. (Did I mentioned shocked?) But, yeah, I was alright. I kept hearing him talking, saying things like, "sorry," and "didn't see you," and "are you sure you're alright," but I was lost in this whirlwind. "Yeah, yeah, I'm alright. I'm okay. It's okay. I'm okay. Yeah. Uh. Okay. Uh. Yeah. Okay. No, I'm alright..." And I get in my car and I drive back to work.

When I finally got back to my office, I took the time to lift my skirt and see the blood on my knees and the runs in my tights and, finally, I felt the stinging sensation set in.

Okay, don't say it. Please, don't say it. Absolutely everyone that I've talked to since it happened wants to know why I didn't call the police. The truth is, I don't honestly know. I mean, I didn't need an ambulance. I only had a few minor scrapes on me. Nothing seemed to be broken. I was just embarrassed and shocked. I didn't even think about calling the police. I know. I know. I could sue. I should sue I could have gotten some money out of this. And I guess that's true. And maybe I'll feel different about it later but this aching feeling that I'm feeling now, like I... well, like I just got hit by a car, will be gone before I get back to work on Monday andI just couldn't see dragging someone into court over it. Hm. It's weird.

I just can't believe it. I was hit by a car.

But you know, if that saying were true, I would be in so much worse shape, right now. I could seriously have been hurt... or even killed. Instead, I'm achy and my cuts and bruises hurt, but I really am alrightt. So, maybe I have some good luck after all. But, wouldn't you know that THIS is how it would exhibit itself?

3:52 p.m. - October 16, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Smartypants
mal-adjusted
siopup
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
unwittingly
red-wine
bathtubmary
boardho
paintergrrrl
bi-bi-baby
jesbohn
nypizzas2
counthere
saamba
goingloopy
porktornado
onewetleg
dooki
madamfafa
southern-sky