winkgirl4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now to the gentle whispers of hope...

Okay, don't get alarmed. It's still me. I'm just adding a new look. Hopefully it's one that will reflect my ever-evolving self. I thought that, perhaps this was a little more versatile, a little more expressive. Perhaps it would give me a better chance to grow.

So, fellow revelers, welcome to a brand new day.

Let me start with some news of the weenend past.

Saturday (my birthday) did not see my Nana's estate sale come to pass as much of it would be shown outdoors and the weather was disagreeable. That did not, however, stop the Texas Hold'Em Tournament that night because, come rain or shine, people will have their poker. It was a great turn out. We saw lots of new faces- young and old. Some of the young were a bit too young but it was good to have them there anyway. There were a few hitches, one of which had one of my very best friends leaving early and the other asking a big spender to leave- after he'd almost had a complete run of one of the tables. (Mr Big-time-spender just also happens to be one of our Big-time-doctors so, for many reasons, I was sorry to see him HAVE TO go. Oh well.)

I was just short of the final table before I was put out by a hand that was at least five levels lower than mine. But that's how the cards turn. You win some, you lose some. And, as it turns out, we gave a way well over a grand in prize money- fourth place going to one of the most quiet, clueless grandmothers I've ever seen. I couldn't have been happier. Yes, happy even knowing that an old grandma lasted longer than me. I have a list of people who are committed to the next tournament and a few people who are looking for a regular game. So, after all was said and done, my birthday turned out to be completely salvageable.

One of the other hitches was that my brother-in-law, Ritchie, wasn't able to attend because he was put back in the hospital that morning due to several massive infections. He, being the trooper he always has been, asked if he could leave just long enough to play the tournament. He was denied, for reasons that became clear only this morning.

I'm sure I have mentioned that, shortly after my Nana passed, Richie lost the worse of his two kidneys- which was removed a few weeks ago. We found out this morning that he has almost completely lost the other one. My sister, Sonya, is broken. Tomorrow, his team of doctors will tell us what our new options are. Richie, on the other hand is in denial. He told the doctors that he believed that he could make this one work and that he didn't like thinking that he would have to take a kidney from someone else. We, of course, don't care. We are already lining people up who are willing to hand him one of thier own. Every one of his family and friends are at the top of that list.

So, I'm trading my fear for hope until these doctors tell us that all hope is gone. He's too young. He deserves a long life. His daughter deserves to know her father. And my sister doesn't deserve to be a widow. So, I'm leaning on hope.

Oh, wait a minute. Wasn't it me who only a few months ago fretted that I missed having hope? Isn't it odd that we find it in the strangest places?

"Oh you should never, never doubt what nobody is sure about." Willy Wonka

10:25 p.m. - June 06, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Smartypants
mal-adjusted
siopup
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
unwittingly
red-wine
bathtubmary
boardho
paintergrrrl
bi-bi-baby
jesbohn
nypizzas2
counthere
saamba
goingloopy
porktornado
onewetleg
dooki
madamfafa
southern-sky