winkgirl4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For Nana

"True, we love life, not because we are used to living, but because we are used to loving. There is always some madness in love, but there is also always some reason in madness"

--Friedrich Nietzsche

This will be short as I will be returning to bed directly. I have spent all night watching the jagged lines that measured my Nana's life, one by one, go flat. My Nana is dead. I'm not sure if I can comprehend it yet but I have chosen, for the time being, to mourn in private. My family seems to understand my need even better than I do. I'm sure that there will be entries detailing my many funny memories of her but right now I'm reduced to this one: My Nana took turns calling each of us girls, on an average, of 6 times a day. My favorite of these calls were the ones where, upon answering, she'd say, "I'm just calling to tell you I'm all right." I would laugh about it with my sisters- who, in turn, had received identical messages. What little I slept this morning, before rising to take my son to school, was gained from crying myself to sleep wishing for just one more of those phone calls.

I am so full of love today that it hurts, sincerely. So, I'm off to bed to nurse my broken heart.

"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever."

--Mahatma Gandhi

7:57 a.m. - 2004-04-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Smartypants
mal-adjusted
siopup
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
unwittingly
red-wine
bathtubmary
boardho
paintergrrrl
bi-bi-baby
jesbohn
nypizzas2
counthere
saamba
goingloopy
porktornado
onewetleg
dooki
madamfafa
southern-sky