winkgirl4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

OH MY GOD!

OH MY GOD!

Okay, so tonight I had a date with Christ. Now, first, let me say that it's been a while. I admit, freely, that my childhood and teenage years were spent going this church service or that prayer meeting and, while my peers were drinking and having sex after shows like Pink Floyd and Ozzy Osbourne, I was feeling the spirit at Gabriel and Carmen concerts. I don't hold a lot of pride in the fact that my high school days were spent trying to "save" the souls of my classmates. Little did I realize that it would have been more advantageous of me to try to save some of their brain cells, but what can I say? You live. You learn.

Times have changed. It's been years since I've been to church and I question, without shame or fear, the existence of God everyday. Still, I went to see the movie anyway. I've had two people ask me why I was going to see The Slaughter of Christ, since I clearly don't believe in God, anymore. My answer: for the popcorn.

Seriously though, about the movie that has stirred so much controversy: it was a good movie. It was passionate and (based on my religious upbringing) mostly accurate. Oh, but, wait a minute. Did I also mention that it was bloody? Good lord, was it bloody! It was hard to watch. But watch it, I did. I even found myself thinking back on the days when the very reading of the related passages would bring me to tears. I remembered our pastors giving us these horrific accounts of how our Christ, our spiritual icon, was beaten and tortured- for us. Thinking back, it was easy for me to understand why the two old ladies who would have turned their heads during a similarly graphic Freddy movie sat there rivoted- refusing to turn away.

What I couldn't understand was the approximately-five-year-old girl on the lap of a middle aged woman next to those two old ladies. This really didn't seem like the kind of flick you'd want to take your child to. Even if, mind you, their spiritual leaders are painting that picture for them on Sonday.

I've not digested enough of it to give a clear estimation of what I thought of this movie. Maybe by the end of the day, I will. But I found myself confused by the mass of people coming from the cinema crying. Mothers. Daughters. Fathers. Teenagers. Noses red. Tear-streaked cheeks. Wadded up balls of kleenex in their hands. And it wasn't so much my confusion about how they could feel so passionately about the scenes they just watched but, rather, how easily I lost that passion.

Gives me something to think about.

So anyway. The Slaughter of the Christ. Fun for the whole family.

9:24 p.m. - 2004-03-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Smartypants
mal-adjusted
siopup
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
unwittingly
red-wine
bathtubmary
boardho
paintergrrrl
bi-bi-baby
jesbohn
nypizzas2
counthere
saamba
goingloopy
porktornado
onewetleg
dooki
madamfafa
southern-sky