winkgirl4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On a wing and a prayer

CALLING ALL GODS. CALLING ALL GODS. WE NEED YOU TO REPORT TO VETERANS HOSPITAL ROOM 112, BED #2.

I am sorry for my absense. I imagine that some of you have come to count on it. To be quite honest, I've begun quite a few of these entries that I've not had the time to finish. It's just been one of those months.

First of all, my house has been nothing if not chaotic. With people filing in and out and construction going on it's been hard to make your way from the front to the back without stumbling. Every night I have something that fills my time until I just fall into bed exhausted. For instance, I built floor to ceiliing shelves on two walls to house the many books in my house. It was quite an undertaking but as Tyler was willing to lend a hand, it made things go a little faster. Then it was rearranging the two rooms so that it, and the new entertainment center would fit in there with some sense of comfort. It took four of us about five hours and at least fifteen different combinations before we found something that seemed to fit the room just right. Slowly, but surely, the house is coming together. (And I haven't even started on the bedroom, yet. YIKES.)

And then there was the whole, new car shopping thing. The very first car I looked at, I loved. I wanted it. I sat behind the wheel and I thought about all the shitty things that I've gone through in the last few years and thought to myself, "I deserve this car." Which only served to make me want it more. That's a powerful thought- knowing that you deserve something. So anyway, I wanted this car, A 2003 silver Allero Sedan. Oh it was nice. And the price was right, too. But, then I had all weekend to think about it (While the paper work was going through.)

Well, lucky me, I don't have the best credit in the world and, sure, I can blame it all on RayRay but the truth of the matter is that I was responsible for the associations I kept and he was one of them. I wasn't bright enough to check his credit before we got married so I deserved what I got. Enough said. So, iffen you've ever known anyone who has less than stellar credit, you know that car lots aren't just handing them over to anyone. So it takes some time. A whole weekend, in fact. During which a couple of friends took me to look at a PT Cruiser he thought I might like. They were right. It's a graphite grey. It's got the limited edition paint job with pretty little accents on the hood and door and trunk. Swede seats. Sun roof. ...it was nice. So I talk to them and they pretty much hand me the keys and tell me to take it. It doesn't take me long to decide which one I like more. I LIKE THE CRUISER. I can't help it. I know they aren't for everyone but I like them. And this was just in my price range. How could I complain, really. Everything was looking good. It looked like everything was going my way.

... Until. Until Sonya (the Catholic) called, Crying, saying that Richie needed to go to the emergency room in Oklahoma City, immediately. I had taken the day before off so that I could handle all the paperwork on the car deal and taking this day off was out of the question. So we tried everyone. Kitty, the Mother Hen, is working for me, now, so she couldn't go. We couldn't locate my grandfather. Shannon had classes to attend. So, finally, we asked Tyler. Tyler was more than willing (he's very accomodating in that way.) Only Richie felt too uncomfortable to let a stranger take him down. So, while all of this is going on, I'm having one of the busiest days this office ever sees. Only, this busy day is made busier by the calls that are coming in from my family every two to five minutes. Oh, and from the car company who now says that they need more money down. Grrrrrr.

It turns out that we find Jr and he takes Richie to the City to be admitted to the hospital. Meanwhile, I haggle with the car company and I don't give them any more money but, instead, walk out of there with and extended warranted and "Gap" insurance. (Happy about the extended warranty, by the way. Not so sure about the Gappy thingy.) Oh, yes, I forgot. I also just got a letter from the IRS saying that they overpaid me my ENTIRE income tax return. YIKES. A simple telephone call informed me that, yes, even the IRS makes mistakes and that they hadn't overpaid my return but, rather, mistakenly sent me the wrong letter. The letter i was supposed to have received would have said that they took the remaining $400 of my student loan out of that check as we had agreed prior to my filing my taxes.

Excellent. Outstanding. Wonderful.

...Until. Until Sonya calls me, crying, again. She now informs me that they got the call from the doctor and that they confirmed that Richie lost his right kidney. The stints were left in too long and the staff infection killed what was left of his failing organ. Which, of course, leaves the left kidney to do all the work. And that, of course, wouldn't be so bad if that kidney weren't almost in just as bad of shape. I maintained my composure and tried to comfort her and told her that we should wait until the doctors have told us what they think they can do with the left kidney or at the very least how much damage has been done to it. I told her that everything would be okay and I got off the phone with her and went to my office bathroom and cried.

I'm exhausted. Emotionally. Physically. I'm so tired. I don't remember being this tired since I was in college and just wanted to go to sleep and never wake up again.

2:57 p.m. - 2004-02-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Smartypants
mal-adjusted
siopup
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
unwittingly
red-wine
bathtubmary
boardho
paintergrrrl
bi-bi-baby
jesbohn
nypizzas2
counthere
saamba
goingloopy
porktornado
onewetleg
dooki
madamfafa
southern-sky