winkgirl4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Life is a Situational Comedy

Life is a Situational Comedy

What a weekend! Did any of you catch the games? (College football, that is.) Game after game we watched favorites go down in flames. First, the number nine seated Nebraska lost to the sixteenth ranked Texas. Then, of course, my Sooners squashed OSU like the bugs they are. I jest, really. To be honest, I was a little apprehensive about our chances going into the game. Oh, I thought we�d win- but, certainly, not by that margin. Then, after we went to Tulsa to pick up my new computer, we watched Miami end their winning streak to Virginia Tech. And, boy, when they lose it, they lose it good.

It�s days like Saturday that reminds me why I Love football so much. I wish I could enjoy basketball as much as I do football but, other than watching Stockton before he retired, I don�t really follow it.

It looks like a few of us are going to go to see the last installment of the Matrix saga on Wednesday. From the previews, it looks like it will be better than The Matrix Reloaded. But, as good as the second movie was, I found myself a little disappointed in a few areas. Like, for instance, how long the fight scene in the park was. It seemed to go on forever and there�s a definite point where the Smiths keep coming in that you can�t help but think that it will. Still, after having seen it several times I, too, have trouble deciding which ass kicking should have been subtracted, so who knows? Then again, there was that orgy scene with Neo and trinity rubbing plugs for forty-five minutes and the twenty-minute diatribe by the Architect that could have been shortened just a bit. Don�t get me wrong, I liked the movie, but it just fell short of the first, I guess. I hear tell that I should come away pleased with the closer, though. I hope so. Either way, a road trip in the company of five interesting men isn�t a bad thing to look forward to, either.

Let�s see, what else? Oh, it�s Monday and it just occurred to me that my friend, Charles, should be married by now. He was supposed to have tied the knot on Friday in some tropical paradise somewhere. I�m happy for him. It�s nice to see that working for someone. And if it has to be someone, I�m glad it�s him. And I mean that sincerely.

(Deleted: Diatribe questioning why people get married in the first place as it seems petty and resentful of Charles happiness. And I don�t resent his happiness, I envy it.)

Okay, as per a friend�s request, here�s a list of my top ten favorite sitcoms of all time:

1. M*A*S*H* : Is there any doubt? This gets top spot because, even after replacing Characters (Blake to Potter, Trapper to Hunnicut and promoting Klinger after losing Radar) the stories stayed strong. It�s a classic. If, after thirty years, I can still watch episodes and they still make me laugh, it�s a keeper.

2. The Simpsons: (Yes, I consider this a sitcom.) Come on, it�s The Simpsons. Homer�s imbecilic nature. Lisa�s do-good attitude weighing against Bart�s cruel tendencies. Marge�s blue hair and raspy voice. Not to mention the fact that poor Maggie is never going to walk. Mix that with varying guest celebrities and a nuclear power plant, how could this NOT be one of the funniest shows on TV?

3. I Love Lucy: Much like M*A*S*H*, this is one of those shows that are funny no matter how many times you see them and no matter how old they get. Lucille Ball really was out of her league as a comedienne.

4. The Blackadder: First of all, I love British Comedy. I�ll take a lot of heat for saying this but I think that American comedy is dumbed down a bit where as the British cater more toward the intellectual. Argue with me all you will, that�s my belief. That being said, Rowan Atkinson just makes me laugh. Mr Bean and The Blackadder are lost on some people. Not me, so much.

5. Mad About You: This probably had more to do with my crush on Helen Hunt than anything else but, there you go.

6. Sienfeld: People can agree or disagree with me about this one but Sienfeld is one of the few comedians who have been able to successfully integrate their comedy �act� into their sitcom and maintain an interesting selection of episodes. Come on, any show that encourage us to determine if our dates are �sponge-worthy� is a keeper.

7. Roseanne: Okay, this is iffy, for me. See, as much as I enjoyed Roseanne, she annoyed the ever-loving hell out of me, too. In much the same way that I love my sister, the Mother hen. I loved the genesis of this show but fell off after they won the lottery. In fact, I think I lost interest at the introduction of Sandra Bernhard, for whom I have little to no tolerance. Still, they provided a variety of characters with a relative level of depth- well, except for DJ, but I digress.

8. Happy Days/ Laverne & Shirley: I lump these together because I always considered them one show. It was never that we were going to sit down and watch Happy Days. It was Happy Days and Laverne & Shirley. My kid-mind just watched the two shows back to back and considered them one. But I grew up on them and, though I can�t really watch them now without cringing, I�m not going to discount what they meant to me when I was little.

9. WKRP in Cincinnati: Now, there�s a show. Come on. Loni Anderson. Who didn�t watch WKRP hoping to see what new something Ms Anderson was barely wearing? Or to listen to the action-packed news with Les Nessman? What about Doctor Johnny Fever! Classic. See, this is one that I can watch, again, and still enjoy.

10. Welcome Back, Kotter. Clearly, this wasn�t for everyone but I watched it regularly when I was a kid. I think it was that, above how �cool� Travolta was (even back then) or how hilariously grating Horshack�s laugh became, you could always count on Mr Kotter ( or Mr Kott-are for the Freddy �Boom boom� Washingtons of the world) to offer some fatherly advice to this mishaps.

Now there are those that would make it to my top twenty five and then there are those that wouldn�t make it on my top 100. And it�s not that they weren�t worth mentioning, but rather that they just didn�t make it to the top ten. And, then, I have my own reasons why I don�t like perfectly funny shows like �Everybody Loves Raymond.� So, there you have it. That�s my list.

Any body out there have any suggestions on how a girls like me could be happy in a town like this?

4:17 p.m. - 2003-11-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Smartypants
mal-adjusted
siopup
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
unwittingly
red-wine
bathtubmary
boardho
paintergrrrl
bi-bi-baby
jesbohn
nypizzas2
counthere
saamba
goingloopy
porktornado
onewetleg
dooki
madamfafa
southern-sky