winkgirl4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ugh. I hate screaming kids.

You can learn many things from children. How much patience you have, for instance.

--Franklin P. Adams

I feel like an intolerant witch. And I know I'm not. I love kids. I love their curiosity. I love their constant need to grow and learn. I love how they see the things that we've overlooked for years. So, why is it that I get so aggravated when people bring their children with them when they interview? Somehow, while I'm interviewing their Mommy or Daddy, I no longer admire their energy and perspective but, rather, am frustrated by the way their engergy bounces them from floor to ceiling, running them this way and that. They are driven by their natural curiosity to climb on my desk, play with the computers, go through vacant desk drawers and write on my walls and tables, while I am armed only with glares at the parents who are now sitting at my desk pretending that they don't see any of it going on.

Perhaps that's the source of my frustration: that I can't control it. That I can't control them. I have no power to say, "Get down from there. No! Get out of those drawers. There's nothing in there that belongs to you." I am completely at the mercy of these overlooking parents. And they are busy overlooking them.

I've debated whether I should put up a sign asking them not to bring their children with them while they are interviewing but it just seems so...so... I don't know, cold. And I don't want to be cold. I don't want to be a witch. But, then again, I didn't like being the person that got taken advantage of, either, so I guess I really do need to decide on which side of the fence I'm going to stand and stand there- or just shut up all together, huh?

(Look at me using "all together" rather than "altogether" in that sentance. That's a gift.)

Sigh.

Ugh. I hate screaming kids.

--Guy Ritchie

10:03 a.m. - 2003-07-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Smartypants
mal-adjusted
siopup
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
unwittingly
red-wine
bathtubmary
boardho
paintergrrrl
bi-bi-baby
jesbohn
nypizzas2
counthere
saamba
goingloopy
porktornado
onewetleg
dooki
madamfafa
southern-sky