winkgirl4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

God Damned Piece of Shit Car

God Damned Piece of Shit Car

"Uh. Yeah. Well, Miss, it looks like that new clutch is gonna run ya about $60-100 if ya want the lifetime garauntee. But, you see, I'm also going to have to resurface your fly wheel or that warranty ain't going to be worth the paper it's written on- no ma'am. That's gonna cost $30 to resurface it. And, figurin' that I'm probly gonna have to drop that cradle, labor is gonna run you around $200. I hadn't figured it up and I'm gonna have to really look at it before I can say fer sure but that a good ball park figure."

"Okay, so high end of that would be around $350, then, right? $350 to get the clutch in the car and the car running again?"

"Yeah. I think that's a good number. Like I was sayin', we're gonna have to...clutch this...pressure plate that...throwout bearings and all and so forth. Yeah. $350 sounds like a good ball park figure."

(Gulp.) "Okay. Well, do the checking around thing to see if you can get the clutch any cheaper and give me a call. Thanks."

EEGADS!! This piece of barely-mobile crap isn't worth $350. Still, it's cheaper than I thought it would be. I guess it could be worse.

RING! RING! RING! RING! (I let the phone ring for a while before I answer it. And it doesn't really 'ring' so much as there's this shrill alarm-type sound. But, anyway...)

"Uh, yeah, Miss. Seems that clutch kit is gonna run you $150. Yeah, so that'sa bit higher than I first thought. That's the cheapest I'm gonna be able to git it ,though. Yeah. Oh and can you believe they don't give em' a lifetime warrenty anymore? Most we can get for it is a year. An, it looks like I'm gonna have to drop that cradle after all so yor gonna need to figure for the full $250..."

[FULL $250?? What happened to $200?]

"...Of course we're still looking at surfacing the fly wheel and I'm telling ya, if you don't resurface it, it's going to keep you from using yer warranty. So, yeah. That's where we are."

$150

$30

+$250

$430 (before taxes, he reminds me.)

Great. Wonderful. Excellent.

What I want to know is how can the high end of my ball park figure be so far out of the ball park? And people want to know why I learned to work on the car.

God damned piece of shit car.

2:36 p.m. - 2003-05-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Smartypants
mal-adjusted
siopup
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
unwittingly
red-wine
bathtubmary
boardho
paintergrrrl
bi-bi-baby
jesbohn
nypizzas2
counthere
saamba
goingloopy
porktornado
onewetleg
dooki
madamfafa
southern-sky