winkgirl4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Side Job.

Hold on to your knickers boys and girls. This is as shocking to me as it's going to be to some of you. And if it's not shocking to you, to hell with ya. Pretend to be shocked, anyway- for my benefit.

My friend, who works for one of the companies that I staff, gave me a call this morning. He asked how my day was and asked if I'd received any "interesting" phone calls this morning.

Interesting? Well, beside this particular conversation, the most interesting call I've received all day was from a girl who wanted me to know that she would not be able to pick up her check this Friday as she's in jail and isn�t likely to get out soon. Hm. That kind of interesting?

No. The "interesting call" he was referring to was about his boss (my client.) Rumor has it that I'm going out (consorting) with a married man. I laugh when he tells me this because...well, because it's funny. First, let me say that I'm not above dating someone who is SIGNIFICANTLY older than me. Neither would I hold against someone vain habits like having three face lifts. But I do have a boyfriend and even if I didn't, I don't date married people.

Yes, part of my job is lunching with clients and getting to know them and their needs but let me assure you, having an understanding of certain needs is not in my job description.

So here's the skinny: a week or so ago, I had a lunch with this client at a nice, local Italian place, after which I got the two job orders that I was hoping for. During that lunch we talked about all the things you talk about at business meetings: Where they play golf? Did you notice the extra low cut blouse I wore to distract you from the questionably high bill rates we intend to charge you? If I buy you enough alcohol today, will you sign on the dotted line asserting that you will use our services exclusively? Standard lunch. Well, during this lunch we also talk about what wines we like and he mentions one that I'm not familiar with. No biggie. My taste and appreciation for wine is still developing so it's understandable that I might not know of this wine. You like it, great. (Don't mind that I'm writing it down and making notes to send you a bottle at Christmas so that you stay a 'valued' client.)

Since that time, I'm finding workers for his company. I'm dedicated. I'm hard working. That's what I do. Meanwhile, he's making a few extra trips to my office to check on Associate Summaries (rather than having me fax or email them, which is the typical method.) He also flirts. Fine. That's standard, too.

And do I flirt? Oh yeah. Why? Well because (1) I'm, admittedly, an incorrigible flirt and (2)because ...well, because I'm in sales and that's what we do. Only, no matter how many times I mention my children or my boyfriend, he never mentions his wife. He talks about trips he takes to exotic places and about what a risk-taker he is but nada on the wifey-front. So, I tone down the flirting a bit.

Well, yesterday, he calls and wants to know if I will be at work after hours (which everyone knows I will be, as I never get out of here on time. EVER.) "Sure I will be. Is there something that you need?"

"Oh, honey, I just bought a bottle of that wine I was telling you about and wanted to bring it by so that you could taste it."

"Oh, uh, well I... uh. I have to get my son after work and then I have to...uh...I have to (damn it, what do I have to do so that I don't have to tell him that I actually have to come back and fill a couple more jobs before I go home?) Well, I will be here, yes. But I will only be here for a few minutes."

(Side note: yeah, confrontation and saying "no" aren't my strong suits.)

So, what I do is have Brad stay, too, (which he NEVER does). Brad drinks the "sipping" wine with Ben and they talk business while I... well, while I was actually doing business. I indulge this until my computer crashes and I can no longer do anything. I make my excuses and I go home.

Only by this morning, I get the call saying that not only am I having "DINNER" with this guy but, apparently, I've been meeting him after hours, too. This client is having a long weekend as he's in some golf tournament. Rumor has it that I am, also, going on this trip with him. Hmm. I wish my life were half as interesting as it plays out in the rumor mill.

And this is, really, only so funny. I know I bring a lot on myself for being a flirt, but come on is this really how small this town is? Is this really how bored these people are? See this is why I support the arts. When all you have to do in a town is go bowling, nothing good can come of it.

11:10 a.m. - 2003-05-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Smartypants
mal-adjusted
siopup
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
unwittingly
red-wine
bathtubmary
boardho
paintergrrrl
bi-bi-baby
jesbohn
nypizzas2
counthere
saamba
goingloopy
porktornado
onewetleg
dooki
madamfafa
southern-sky