winkgirl4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

To Sleep, Perchance to Dream.

To Sleep, Perchance to Dream...

I'd be lying if I said I was getting enough sleep but the truth is, I haven't and, this time, it's my fault.

First I miss Christian. He's been busy at work, lately and that leaves very little IM time during the day and as much as I just want to hear his thoughts at the end of the day, he's not a huge fan of the phone. What can you do?

I mean, really, I'm going to see him, again, in about a month. It's not like I can't take it, but, honestly, I'm tired of not talking to him on a daily basis. I'm tired of not getting to recap my day with him and listen to him bitch about the insufferable girls that work in his office. I want to lay in bed with him and talk about things. Anything. I'm just tired of not having him in my home, at my table, in my bed. I'm tired of not having him. Period.

At the same time, I've been spending the last several evenings with Shannon and John- the first signs of intelligent life in this pathetic, little cow-town- enjoying "real" company. Real conversation. Funny, energetic, intelligent conversation. People who aren't afraid to play Scrabble. People who own their own opinions. Thinkers. Freedom fighters. Patriots. (Oh, sorry. I got away from myself.)

But, the thing is, I've been staying up too late enjoying that. Part of me is afraid that if the stories stop that they will go away, altogether, and that I will be left with the small-town drama of what crack head is spying from what window wondering who's watching them.

This is small town life, people, and I've (finally) found people who are bigger than that. For this brief moment in time, these wonderful people are mine and I'm depriving myself of sleep to enjoy it.

********************************

On a side note: When I finally did go to sleep, I didn't so much have a dream but a vision of myself saying this:

"She drank their discontent like a tepid Sauvignon."

Hm. Wonder what that means. I've Googled that line all morning and haven't been able to find a reference to it. Don't know, but it's mine, now. My dream. My line.

10:50 a.m. - 2003-04-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Smartypants
mal-adjusted
siopup
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
unwittingly
red-wine
bathtubmary
boardho
paintergrrrl
bi-bi-baby
jesbohn
nypizzas2
counthere
saamba
goingloopy
porktornado
onewetleg
dooki
madamfafa
southern-sky