winkgirl4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Defending Your Life?

It's the middle of the night and I should be in bed. Instead, I have a pan of oatmeal raisin cookies in the oven and I just finished watching "Defending Your Life." Have you seen it? It stars Meryl Streep (reminding me of the former Mrs. Carvajal more than EVER) and Albert Brooks- whose sardonic personality has always reminded me of Christian. I have to tell you that it's a little disturbing to watch, and yet, it's one of my favorite movies.

The concept is that Julia (Streep) and Daniel (Brooks) have died and are sent to what I guess would be pergatory where they are asked to defend their life. From the beginning, it's clear that Julia's task is simple. She loved life the way she loves the never ending food that's offered in the after-life. Daniel, on the other hand, seems to constantly be missing the point. The decisions he made in life were all ruled by fear and, it turns out as he falls in love with Julia, that his decisions post mortum follow the same pattern.

I love this movie. I love this concept. I love that, in the afterlife, you can eat ten pies without guilt. I'd love to visit the Past Life Pavillion and find out what I was in past lives (granted that such lives actually existed.) Wouldn't it be incredible? Can you imagine finding out that you were boiled alive by some native tribe or burned at the stake but the Salem Witch trials? Or better yet, that you were the president or a world leader?

Mostly what I love about his movie is that it's like about this movie is the Christian...errrr...Daniel character. It's the humor. It's his personality. It's his unique perspective. So, if you have some spare time and you'd like to watch a movie that might offer you a unique perspective on the possibilities of life after death, watch this. Maybe you won't find it as funny or endearing as I did, but it's worth the watch.

11:33 p.m. - May 19, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Smartypants
mal-adjusted
siopup
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
unwittingly
red-wine
bathtubmary
boardho
paintergrrrl
bi-bi-baby
jesbohn
nypizzas2
counthere
saamba
goingloopy
porktornado
onewetleg
dooki
madamfafa
southern-sky