winkgirl4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Work is the answer

Universal Truth #54: Nothing is ever as easy as it first appears.

You see, I have this system of organization where I use multi-colored note cards to determine what needs to be done and in what order. This is a perfect system. Brad hates it but, still, it's a perfect system. Well, it's a perfect system for me, anyway. Well, my desk is overcome with notecards. I have now done my job so well that I have too much to do- keeping me from doing my job that well. - Go figure. I feel exhausted. My work is paying off. People are getting jobs. Companies are getting people. I'm getting bonuses. Shouldn't I be happier?

Even as I wrote that last paragraph I got a call from the largest employer in our area asking if they could meet with us to discuss staffing needs. I should be ecstatic. I should be punching numbers into my nito-skeeto calculator, figuring what this is going to mean to me in incentive pay but, rather, my mind pictures one more card on my desk, in it's neat little place, waiting for my attention. Waiting for me to be able to put check marks on the lists of tasks that each little notecard demands of me.

Work is the answer but the answer is making me question my methods of getting on with my life.

4:48 p.m. - 2003-10-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Smartypants
mal-adjusted
siopup
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
unwittingly
red-wine
bathtubmary
boardho
paintergrrrl
bi-bi-baby
jesbohn
nypizzas2
counthere
saamba
goingloopy
porktornado
onewetleg
dooki
madamfafa
southern-sky