winkgirl4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quotable Quotes

Quotable Quotes

"The surest way to make a monkey of a man is to quote him." --Robert Benchley

I couldn't believe it when I read it. I read it twice to make sure that I was really seeing what I was reading. Then, I read it a third time to see if my being quoted wasn't intended as mockery. Even now, I suppose I should know it's motive, but I don't. I just know that it shook me to the core.

Why should it, really? The question is begged and the only answer I can produce is this: My quote was followed by the term, "ARRGH." Yes, "ARRGH." It read like, "Great! When will she let it lie?" And there it was, in his journal for everyone to read and measure and analyze and attribute characteristics about me that I didn't warrant.

I stand by my assumption that it would have set any reasonable person back a few steps. And it did me. I literally lost my breath. Still I suppose I could have misread the intention or tone but I'm not sure I did. It's just that it was the first pangs of real directed anger I've had since Christian and I broke up and I felt blindsided by it. Then again, it's his journal. It's his expression of his feelings and quoting something I said about him is fully within his rights. And I do accept that- just as much as I accept my right to feel frustrated by having my private expressions reproduced for everyone to see.

When does life start feeling normal, again?

"Children seldom misquote you. In fact, they usually repeat word for word what you shouldn't have said."--Unknown

3:50 p.m. - 2003-09-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Smartypants
mal-adjusted
siopup
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
unwittingly
red-wine
bathtubmary
boardho
paintergrrrl
bi-bi-baby
jesbohn
nypizzas2
counthere
saamba
goingloopy
porktornado
onewetleg
dooki
madamfafa
southern-sky