winkgirl4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's all in the timing.

It's All in the Timing

Life is funny, you know? If I've learned nothing about life, I've learned that it's all about timing. It's true. And this is how I know:

I met Christian when we were in college, well over ten years ago. We dated and began loving each other at the exact moment that my emotional stability started slipping. We didn't survive it. We couldn't have.

While we were still together he gave me a well-thought out Valentines Day gift complete with a hand-made candy jar, flowers and balloons- not knowing, of course, that I was going to break up with him on this day of love and giving.

During those 'crazy' years I married a man I didn't think could hurt me. A man I knew, frankly, wouldn't have been smart enough to figure me out. And you know what? That's exactly what happened. He couldn't figure me out and so he stayed away. Only I was alone so much that I had enough time to think about things and to work through the crazy. Meanwhile the shiny package of my ex-husband's little sorority-girl meal ticket lost it's shine and I couldn't compare to so many other bright, shiny things that caught his eye. Ten years to the day after getting married I signed the papers to finalized the divorce.

This year, deeply in love with Christian, I spent and exorbitant amount of time making him a well-thought out gift for Valentines Day to tell him how much I love him and to show him how serious I am about investing in our relationship. Since he lives in California and I live in Oklahoma I, of course, mailed it. Did he get it? No. Did I get it back? Yes, finally. When, you ask? Well, EXACTLY one month after Valentines day, that's when.

I haven't seen the package, yet, but my sister says that it's there. I'll go pick it up tonight and, after making sure that nothing is broken, I will resend it, tomorrow. Not believing in fate but understanding completely how poor my timing always is, I am sure that the package will arrive, finally, on his doorstep the day he lands on mine.

8:23 p.m. - 2003-03-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Smartypants
mal-adjusted
siopup
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
unwittingly
red-wine
bathtubmary
boardho
paintergrrrl
bi-bi-baby
jesbohn
nypizzas2
counthere
saamba
goingloopy
porktornado
onewetleg
dooki
madamfafa
southern-sky