winkgirl4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Idle Hands

IDLE HANDS ARE THE DEVIL�S PLAY TOYS

I suppose I should be working. That is, in fact, what I�m getting paid to do. But, I just don�t have the�what? The energy? The drive? The interest? I don�t know, but whatever is lacking keeps me from verifying employment, running background checks on people, and from calling local business owners and begging them for business.

What�s more, everything around me seems to support my mediocrity. The phones that are usually ringing off the hook are silent. The lobby, usually laden with applicants, waiting for their moment at my desk, is empty. The multi-tasking that usually propels my working minutes into hours is non existent. I�m just sitting here- almost defiant. Why, I even took time out to eat lunch, today.

See, this would be the perfect time to get all those things done that I need to get done that never seem to get done because all those other things are getting done, instead. This would be a great time to sort through the piles on my desk and to find all those lost pieces of information that have sunk to the bottom of stacks of this and towers of that created in moments where there were no silent phones and empty lobbies. This is that moment I always wish I had to call this company for that really talented guy or that company for this really talented girl. Instead, I�m writing this journal entry and doing none of those things.

The thing is, life sometimes hands you these brief moments where you can either catch up or you can catch your breath and, today, I�m doing more of the breathing.

Pleasant breathing to you, too.

1:23 p.m. - 2003-02-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Smartypants
mal-adjusted
siopup
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
unwittingly
red-wine
bathtubmary
boardho
paintergrrrl
bi-bi-baby
jesbohn
nypizzas2
counthere
saamba
goingloopy
porktornado
onewetleg
dooki
madamfafa
southern-sky