winkgirl4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just Another Manic Monday

It's Monday and I'm reflecting on my weekend:

I went to a sales meeting where my Regional Vice President took us on a tour of the new office in Tulsa. (Can you say, "luxiurious," boys and girls? Can you say, "Scott used my raise to purchase and over-decorate his lavish digs"? I knew you could.) Oh, and we've been given free reign to be creative during our promotions process. (Which will be necessary as they've cut our spending allowances.)

That night, I went to "Peckerheads", a local night club, to celebrate the 21st birthday of my friend, James- who, surprisingly, looks a lot like Johnathan Jackson. James used this opportunity to see how quickly he could get wasted. We timed it at about an hour and thirty minutes before we had to take him home, hydrate him, pop a few tylenol down him and tuck him into bed. (Oh, to be young again.) We enjoyed a bit more flirty dancing and then home, early, to babysit my eldest sister, Michelle, who finds herself lost without the attention of the man over which she's currently obsessing. (He went on a fishing trip with his brothers.)

I spent the rest of Saturday night and a good part of Sunday morning reading the second book in what turns out to be a very interesting Fantasy trilogy:His Dark Materials. When I started the first book, The Golden Compass, I really didn't think I was going to like it. I do like Science Fiction and Fantasy but I have found I have less of an interest in the fantasy genre than I would, say, fiction. The Golden Compass is a little overwhelming as it thrusts you straight into what we think is the first action in a course of events that just continues to build and build until you find yourself wrapped in a really incredible story. I can tell you that as I put the first book down, I couldn't wait to pick up the next one. For a person that doesn't really care for "action-packed" reading materials, I found this to be refreshing. Christian, who sold me on the trilogy, described it as an older, female Harry Potter. If you've enjoyed the Harry Potter series, at all, I really think that you will enjoy this little trilogy as well. Besides, you have until June for the next Potter book to come out. You'll need something to fill that reading time.

Let me see, what else did I do? I cleaned out my car. I did laundry. I layed in bed and had some me time, which has been on the decline lately as the act, itself, has kinda just made me sad. So, that was a success.

Yeah, so it was an altogether unthrilling weekend. And sometimes you just need those. Still, I would have preferred to have spent that time in bed, in my bathrobe, reading next to Christian and devouring him at the close of every third chapter.

11:46 a.m. - 2003-02-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Smartypants
mal-adjusted
siopup
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
unwittingly
red-wine
bathtubmary
boardho
paintergrrrl
bi-bi-baby
jesbohn
nypizzas2
counthere
saamba
goingloopy
porktornado
onewetleg
dooki
madamfafa
southern-sky