winkgirl4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nights like these remind me of home.

You know, I forgot how good sloppy joes are. It's been so long since I've had them. I remember when I was in high school and my mother (and by my mother I mean my foster mother and the greatest woman I've ever known) used to toast the buns for us and set the hot, steaming pan of sauce on the table. Along with any condiment you could imagine wanting on a good ol' sloppy joe. I, for one, happen to like mine with cheese and a little bit of mustard. Either way, it's a good memory.

What's even better than remembering how much I liked a nostalgic food is remembering how, on a nights very similar to this, we would go out into the warm- not hot- august evening and work in the yard and watch our neighbors on their evening walks. So, tonight, that's what I did. I worked in the yard. I cleaned out the refrigerator and Justin and I talked about the possibility of enrolling him in football this season. And you know what? It was as good as I remembered it being. No. That's wrong. It was better.

9:08 p.m. - August 23, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Smartypants
mal-adjusted
siopup
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
unwittingly
red-wine
bathtubmary
boardho
paintergrrrl
bi-bi-baby
jesbohn
nypizzas2
counthere
saamba
goingloopy
porktornado
onewetleg
dooki
madamfafa
southern-sky