winkgirl4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Homeward Bound. I wish I was...homeward bound.

I don't know if I had a chance to tell you but I'll be out of the loop for another week or so as I will be doing some training for our company. I actually look forward to this next week of getting to set up some of these elements in our office.

A few of my friends, Mike, David and Shannon all came to eat dinner with me last week while I was in training. It meant quite a bit since the trip took three hours and they really had no other reason to be in the area. They just came up to see me and to have dinner with me. It was nice. I wish they could have stayed longer but since the drive back was just as long as the drive up there, they didn't get to stay but about thirty minutes after dinner before they had to head back. Still. It was nice to see them.

It was also nice to see Christian before having to head up there but the sense of "tolerance" of each other was too much to overcome and I think that we both walked away disappointed. On that note, I don't know what else to say as I've spent a week trying to make sense of it, myself. If I am ever able to make heads or tails of it, I will let you know.

As for training, it's been exhausting but enjoyable. They've kept us incredibly busy with a week's worth of long days and working lunches and business dinners at night. It was more than enough to make you just want to go straight to bed once you got to your hotel room but unfortunately, most of us still had long nights of reports and business analysese to pour over before our heads would ever hit the pillow. I've learned a lot. I look forward to putting it to use in our office. But before we get into that I want to note the one night we did get to go out and have a little free time.

In the group of people who were training for our company, there were people who had just bought their first office and those who were new to the company and were learning our system and those who were moving from an inside sales position to outside sales and learning the different aspects of it. And they came from all over. There was a two-woman team who were just about to open up their office in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. The owner was a woman from Dublin, Ireland and her Staffing Coordinator, a girl from Jersey. Also, the most outstanding couple I think I've ever met in my life. They met while being flight attendants, the only job either of them had ever had. So, after seventeen years in the sky, they decided to cash in all their savings and buy an office in Salem Winston, North Carolina. So, anyway, our class of sixteen diverse people decided to go out for drinks before many of our class would have to go back to their perspective towns and states. (I'll have pictures to share soon, I promise.)

While getting a drink- that I clearly needed after such a long week- I met at the bar Ken. Ken, The cat-food man. You see, Ken was smooth- well, as smooth as his gin and tonic were allowing him to be. Ken, with the look of a pilot after a three day trip, leaned in and wanted to know (I swear to god) "What a little girl like me was doing in a bar like this." -Oh yeah, I was smitten. So, anyway, I continue to wait for Julie, the buxom bartender, to come back with my drink. Meanwhile, Ken begins to tell me that he's an inventor and he's here marketing his new product. You see, Ken makes pyramid shaped cat food. Oh, but it's not just any pyramid shaped cat food. This has multi-levels of flavors. Though I didn't see my future with Ken the Cat-food man, I did understand one thing. I completely understand why I'm not out there trying to date anymore. Maybe I'm synical. Maybe I'm fooling myself. I don't know. But something tells me that the Kens are out numbering the Mr Rights.

Anyway. I'll write more when I get a chance. Just wanted to pop in and give you a head's up. So... uh... HEADS UP, everyone.

8:17 p.m. - June 19, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Smartypants
mal-adjusted
siopup
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
unwittingly
red-wine
bathtubmary
boardho
paintergrrrl
bi-bi-baby
jesbohn
nypizzas2
counthere
saamba
goingloopy
porktornado
onewetleg
dooki
madamfafa
southern-sky