winkgirl4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Equal Opportunity Employer - yeah right.

You know, I think it's best not to talk in the office. Instead I'm just going to voice all my thoughts here.

Like, I had to bite my tongue to keep from calling Brad on his bigotry, today. It was actually almost out of my mouth before I could stop it. It made my heart jump, it was almost so hard to contain.

For instance, I had a temporary receptionist job available for one day. As I say that I also have to mention that this particular job only pays $5.15 an hour. There is a girl who calls in regularly for temporary work and she was the first one I thought of. She has excellent customer service experience. She has a great attitude and more than enough clerical experience to do a one-day, minimum-wage receptionist job where the most she'll do all day is answer the phones and take messages.

AS I'm calling this girl he puts me on hold to tell me that he doesn't think I should offer her this job because (1) he doesn't think that she's qualified and (2) because he thinks she's got a criminal background. Now, why would he think that? Well, he'd think that because she's black. When I pull her background information and assure him that she does, in fact, NOT have a criminal background, he leans in and says, "I'd really just rather not hire her. I don't get a good feeling about her."

This wouldn't be bad if I didn't go through the exact same thing with another young man this evening. Besides, of course his bad feelings about these people he gives me speculations like, I don't think (they) can pass a drug screen or I don't think that they have transportation.

So, while Brad is sitting at my desk declining my ability to place, yet another black person, a guy walks in the door and asks if we have any jobs available. I choke down my desire to say, "If you're white, Im sure we do."

Man, I'm just looking to get fired.

3:58 p.m. - 2004-05-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Smartypants
mal-adjusted
siopup
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
unwittingly
red-wine
bathtubmary
boardho
paintergrrrl
bi-bi-baby
jesbohn
nypizzas2
counthere
saamba
goingloopy
porktornado
onewetleg
dooki
madamfafa
southern-sky