winkgirl4's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Vodka

Vodka

It�s funny what a daily fifth of Vodka can do to your sense of perception. For instance, a fifth of Vodka a day helps my father believe that everything my sisters and I went through as children and adolescents was blown way out of proportion. And, with the help of that daily fifth, he told my sister, two days ago, that he didn�t think that the punishment (his prison term) fit the crime (his molesting us and allowing others to do so, in turn.) Truth be known, to his Vodka-clouded mind, he is confused about why we might have �issues� with either him or our mother. In fact, shouldn�t they, as our parents, harbor some resentment towards us (my little sister especially) for breaking up the family?

See, it�s easy for me to laugh at this because I can see through the alcohol vapor to the absurdity that is this man�s thoughts and beliefs. My little sister, who carried the burden of bringing our ugly secrets out into the open and who endured taunts and jeers from our parents and grandparents and even the siblings she was lambasted to save, doesn�t take it so lightly. In fact, it makes her cry and that doesn�t make me laugh. I suppose I should be just as upset at her for letting someone�s fifth of Vodka get to her, or for letting them continue to shame her for being more stable than they were but I�m not.

The most I can do is to tell her not to talk to them when they are intoxicated, as that�s been my solution. �But,� she said, �They are always drunk.�

Exactly.

5:05 p.m. - 2003-02-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Smartypants
mal-adjusted
siopup
idiot-milk
zeroreverb7
unwittingly
red-wine
bathtubmary
boardho
paintergrrrl
bi-bi-baby
jesbohn
nypizzas2
counthere
saamba
goingloopy
porktornado
onewetleg
dooki
madamfafa
southern-sky